Why I Ditched MCT Oil

I tried butter/MCT coffee, and at first, I felt amazing! I started with 1 TBS of pastured butter and 1 tsp. MCT oil, (that special Brain variety 😉 ) slowly working my way up to a full tablespoon.

I could make it until noon or 2pm without any hunger, I had great clarity of mind and my energy levels were good.

But then, like so many of the things I try, my body adapted and went back to its typical hungry, brain-fogged state.

But even worse was that I started getting abdominal pains. I kept deluding myself that it wasn’t the MCT oil even though it’s known to cause GI distress (and I followed protocol and slowly worked my way up to a modest 1 TBS.)

So I knew I had to cut it out. I was hesitant at first to switch back to just coconut oil, since with MCT oil I was only getting C8 and C10 medium chain triglycerides, but coconut oil has C12 (lauric acid), which the body doesn’t convert to energy as readily.

But then I tested positive for SIBO.

Lauric acid is a natural antibacterial and antimicrobial, so putting that back into my diet only made sense. And switching back to coconut oil took away the abdominal pains I had been experience from my MCT-oiled coffee.

Has the coconut oil helped my SIBO? I really don’t know. It certainly hasn’t cured it, but perhaps it has helped keep it from getting much worse.

In addition, I wonder about the MCT oil and how its processed. When industrial seed oils were first introduced, their health benefits made headlines and they worked their way into our concepts of “healthy fats”. Now, we know that not only the oils themselves are too high in omega-6s and have detrimental effects on health, but the way they are processed (with chemicals and high heat) make the oils even more destructive for health.

I wonder, are we doing the same thing with MCT oil?

As I take this journey with my health, I tend more and more to lean back on foods that are as close to natural state as possible. It only makes sense and is the safest bet.

Leave a Reply

