Homemade Kombucha

Awhile back I wrote about how GT’s Kombucha was helping with my SIBO symptoms. It was, and still does, but there’s one big problem with it.

It’s freaking expensive.

Even buying it by the case and getting a discount I was paying about $3.50 per bottle. That adds up quickly.

So I finally decided to bite the bullet and try making my own kombucha at home.

I had been nervous to do so, fearing mold or harmful bacterial growth, but decided to give it a shot.

My fiance’s mom gave me a great brewing vessel for my birthday, and I ordered my Scoby from Kombucha Kamp. (SCOBY stands for symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast, and its what eats the sugar in the sweet tea solution to make fermented kombucha.)

The process was simple and the instructions provided were clear. With a couple days, a new baby Scoby had formed on the surface of the tea, just as it should. After waiting patiently for seven days, I finally got to taste it.

It tasted like sweet tea, not kombucha.

Another week passed, and I tasted again.

It had a slight tang this time, but still very, very sweet.

I kept tasting every other day for the next three weeks, and even though it got a bit tangier each time, it still was much to sweet for my liking.

I did a bit of research and  found that the problem might be it is much to cold in my apartment for it to ferment properly. My apartment hovers around 70 degrees, sometimes going as low as 63 at night, and Scobies prefer 75-85 degrees.

So I started a second batch with the mother and baby Scoby, and ordered a heating strip. It’s been 3 days with the heating strip and I now have found the right position to keep the booch around 78-80 degrees.

It hasn’t done much more fermenting yet, but growing my own kombucha has been an awesome experience so far. It’s a bit like a science experience you can taste, and I think it may be playing some part as to why my SIBO symptoms have been greatly reduced. I drink about a shot’s glass worth everyday as I taste it to see how the fermentation is going.

Leave a Reply

